Posted by: Juweon | March 24, 2009

Aussie Golf

Just want to give out a BIG THANK YOU to everyone who has supported me through the process so far with their votes and words of encouragement.  We finished up in 11th place with 6513 votes and I think we accomplished our goals of proving my relevancy and keeping me right in the middle of the picture for the next stage of the competition.

I think it was a very good showing taking into fact, the lack of Korean translations for the voting emails and site which prevented many Korean voters from confirming their votes or even realizing that they can vote more than once.

Finally a BIG SHOUT OUT to all of my friends back in the States, helping me out to get votes and media attention in Texas and the rest of the United States.

Much love to all!

Now, onto my entry…

Let’s go straight to my video blog before my explanation on how I got to making this video.

I had a pretty busy weekend, both socially and athletically.  On Saturday, I went to my cousin’s wedding, which you might see a blog about in the coming days.

Here’s a quick sneak peak:

On Sunday, meanwhile, I had one of the most athletically productive days I’ve had in a while.  After not playing a single minute of basketball over the winter (because I’m from Texas and I can’t stand the cold), I played 2 hours of basketball and I literally felt like dying after the first 2 trips up and down the court.  Luckily, I caught my second wind about 4 games in and started having actual fun, rather than feeling like I was on that “stretchy-horse contraption” that they put William Wallace in at the end of the movie, Braveheart.  (check the 4:30 mark in the clip below)

After a quick post game meal of dumpling soup, my friend Kevin and I decided to go play a little screen golf.  We’ve been keeping a running tally of victories for the past year or so.  The score is now 29 – 29, but I was actually ahead by about 10 matches several months ago.  But that’s when Kevin decided to move to a new apartment with an indoor golf practice range, and he caught up.

Playing screen golf for the first time in a while, gave me the idea that I should make a little video blog featuring the great golf courses of Queensland and why Korean golfers would/should want to go there.  Koreans are completely bananas, yes, B-A-N-A-N-A-S (in Gwen Stefani’s voice, not hot pants) about this game.  If you ever go to a golf course in the Philippines, the course pros are all Koreans because so many Korean golf tourists go to take advantage of the cheap golf.  Same thing for China.  Golf fees in Korea are absolutely ridiculous.  Membership to a decent club around the Seoul area goes into the MILLIONS of DOLLARS and you still pay a green fee every time you play.  If you are not a member, you pay about double.  For the average Joe Schmo, expect to pay about $300 to play a round of golf, on a course where there are so many hazards and OBs that you kind of feel like you’re playing on this course:

talk about a precise approach...

talk about a precise approach...

Anyways, this was the reason why I thought I would try my hand at making a video promoting the wonderful golf courses of Queensland (especially the new course on Hamo) to Koreans and the rest of the world.

just in case you guys want to share the golf video, here’s the youtube link.


Responses

  1. Is that my nephew!??

    he looks so much like hyungwoo hyung…

    he IS his son right?

    I haven’t met him yet

  2. yeah, it’s hyungwoo hyung’s son and he’s the cutest kid in the world. Didn’t you see him that one day when you and your gf came to 큰고모’s house for new years?


Leave a Reply

Categories

